Applies to: Hosting a game with Parsec
Approving apps allows you to select which applications you want to share with your friends when hosting with Parsec. This controls their ability to interact and see the apps. While this isn't intended to be rock-solid security, it should make it much easier to deal with friends connecting to your machines.
How To Use Approved Apps
1. Open the Parsec host settings menu
2. Set Approved apps only to On (if you do not see this option, you may need to restart Parsec).
3. Select the application you want to share with your friends by clicking the + button (Please note: Application will only appear on the list if it is running).
What will your friends see when the approved app is opened and set to borderless full screen mode?
Your friends will only be able to see and interact with the application you have white listed.
What will friends see when the approved app is not open or minimized?
Your friends will see this screen and will not be able to interact or see anything.
What happens when you approve multiple apps?
Your friends will be able to switch to any approved app and interact with it. Only approve apps that you want your friends to have the ability to see and use.
What will your friends see when the approved app is opened and in windowed mode (non fullscreen)?
When the application is running in Windowed mode, your friends will be able to see the desktop and any applications behind it. They will not have the ability to click or interact with the desktop or windows that are not approved.
What will your friends see if you approve apps like Google Chrome or Steam?
If you approve regular apps, like Steam and Chrome, unless they are full screen, your friends will see the everything behind the application. They will not have the ability to click or interact with the desktop or windows that are not approved.
What will your friends see if you open in-game overlays, such as the Steam Overlay?
If you open an overlay, such as the Steam overlay, your friends will be able to see it.
What will your friends see when you have approved apps but you have allowed them to connect at any time without your approval?
Approved apps does not apply to friends where you have set the below permission settings.